Skip to content

The family, captured

January 12, 2010

I love that someone grabbed our camera and took this picture of us right before we sang happy birthday to Col.

It captures so much about a moment in time: Col surfing the crest of his own birthday wave; Rose, giddy to be related to the celebrity of the day, though maybe even more excited about cake and the tremendous responsibility of passing out paper plates (which went into the compost after Rose licked every chocolate crumb off their surface); I am just that mom who is thrilled that all the children are having fun and that we’ve made it to the cake with no major mishaps; And Dan? My sweet, amazing husband looks like he’s about to charge off to do something useful, which is pretty much how he operates, and why anything gets done around here.

I will cease to comment on Col’s being five, because really, it’s not like he’s packing up for college or even has a grasp on the days of the week. If you must know, he can’t even wipe his own bottom with absolute proficiency.

What I’m trying to say is that there’s someone out there whose baby is turning ten, or fifteen or twenty even, and she’s wondering what all the sniffling and ruminating is about over here. Well, I think it’s over. Back to your regularly scheduled program, in which a Mama wonders if Rose will ever finish a meal at the table and if Col will take himself to the bathroom to pee before starting “the pee dance.”

11 Comments leave one →
  1. 6512 and growing permalink*
    January 12, 2010 3:20 pm

    ps: Dan is wearing a deerskin vest that he brain-tanned and sewed himself (note also, the antler buttons); see what I mean about being useful? On the other hand, our current cooking scenario consists of a single, plug-in burner and a toaster oven, because our oven broke and I’m in charge of getting it fixed/buying a new one.

  2. Steph permalink
    January 12, 2010 3:49 pm

    GREAT photo! Yes, I did watch Dan do a lot of useful things around the house that evening! He is always thinking!! (and, always poised for the next task!)

  3. kim permalink
    January 12, 2010 7:22 pm

    Aw… you;re allowed to sniffle over the passage of time- even if just five years. My 1st baby will be 18 in 6 short months and I can ompletely understand those milestone years. So frequent in the first decade and getting so few by the end of the second decade.

  4. January 12, 2010 9:37 pm

    It *is* a fantastic photo. And that he’s five and a few days is just as celebration-worthy as being five. Ruminate away!

  5. January 12, 2010 11:39 pm

    What a happy picture of you guys. Your comment on my post made me laugh today. Why does broken glass and a bloody nose make me laugh, because it sounds just like one of my days. It’s tough when you have two so close in age who marvell at each other’s “badness”…or “creativity”, whichever term you’d rather use. Wink. Wink. Sometimes I laugh…roll my eyes…or freak out. Just depends.

    :)Lisa

  6. Anonymous permalink
    January 13, 2010 8:12 am

    Happy Birthday to Col!!! Hard to believe it’s been 5 years – and for you- what an amazingly different roller coaster ride it’s been. Great picture of you all- everyone looks thrilled to celebrate! Riley is all geared up for Charlie’s party in Februrary – she actually thinks it’s her “next” birthday party (hers was in December). I really would so love to see our kids get together- I think the girls would just be in their own princess/prima donna kind of world – and the boys- who KNOWS what kind of trouble they could get into!! Hopefully one day….! Happy Birthday to Col!!

  7. Peggy permalink
    January 13, 2010 8:12 am

    Sorry Rachel- that last comment was me (Peggy) – apparently I didn’t fill in my name so I am “Anonymous”!

  8. January 13, 2010 1:22 pm

    What a sweet photo…and happy birthday! My youngest just celebrated her 3rd bday and I am wondering why it is going so so fast!!
    Suzy

  9. char permalink
    January 14, 2010 2:15 pm

    I have six kids and every time one of them is celebrating a birthday I have mixed feelings, S ad because he is getting older happy that he has new mile stones to reach in his journey of life. Stop by my place and chat if u have time…

  10. January 14, 2010 10:19 pm

    I love your family “captured”. I wish you lived closer. We would be good friends I know it. Keep eachother company during good ol hunting season.

    • 6512 and growing permalink*
      January 16, 2010 2:33 pm

      Sarah, I totally agree. I think our husbands would have a lot to talk about too.

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment. I love hearing from you.

